humans.asia 由賽馬會理大真人圖書網絡推動
Stories Themes Measures Organizations/Projects Videos Contact Us Login/Registration ENG
Wefoto
Stories Themes Measures Organizations/Projects Videos Contact Us Login/Registration

Story

‹ Go to Theme Page ‹ Back to Stories Page

Tommy Lau

Page Creation Date
2019.01.29

Page Update Date
2021.04.23

×

Make Appointment


! [Name] * Required


! [Email Address] * Required ! [Email Address] Please Fill in a Valid Email Address

! [Telephone] * Required ! [Telephone] Please Fill in a Valid Phone Number


! [Organization Name] * Required


! [Preferred Start Date and Time] * Required

! [Preferred End Date and Time] * Required
! Start date and time cannot be after the end date and time ! Start date must be on or after the current date


! [Estimated No. of Participants ] * Required


! [Suggested Venue] * Required


Thank you very much for your application. We will get back to you as soon as possible.
×

Feedback/supplementary information

* Required


! [Name] * Required


! [Email] * Required


! [URL] * Required

! [I have the following feedback/supplementary information] * Required

Choose File Change Remove
(Upload up to 10 attachments, total file size must not exceed 100MB.)
! [Something went wrong, please try again.]
! [Attachment upload exceeds the maximum number of files.]
! [The uploaded attachments exceeds the maximum size of 100mb.]


You have successfully submitted your feedback/supplementary information.

From scaring to busking

 (Photo provided by interviewee)

Tommy was a watch trader before his accident. He met a serious traffic accident when he went to Shenzhen to work in 2006. Although there was neither bleeding nor fracture, his cervical nerve was damaged, which made him change from a sportsman to a person with quadriplegic in one night. He was just thirty years old at that time, unmarried, no kids, but with his parents who were old. His life had been just like starting from the very beginning. After decadence and being roused, he joined the Direction Association for the Handicapped. He stepped out his comfort zone with other members. Now, Tommy got a warm family and friends who are passionate. He speaks out the voice of men in different competitions, performances and talks, and is always full of joy.

(Photo provided by interviewee)

I bring my son to every competition and performance. I want to let him know even his father is with disability, his life can also be colourful. I want him to know more about disabilities, and know more about the world.

One minute on the stage needs ten years of practice off stage. Tommy was not interested in singing before he was injured. All started with the music band in the association. His breathing system is limited due to his injury. He could not sing the whole piece in the beginning, like other members. After practising hard and reminding the breathing method purposely, he can now sing a song completely without stopping. He said that he needed to sing regularly to keep his energy. When he is having physiotherapy, he feels like he can't breathe, and his heart rate increases a lot. Then, he controls his breathing through singing. Singing is one of his most enjoyable activities.

 (Photo provided by interviewee)

The purpose of joining competitions is not becoming famous, but to keep energetic through them and set a target for myself.

The idea of busking had been in Tommy's mind for long. He thought that the quality of busking was staggering, but he did not have the courage to busk on the streets even though he did have some experiences of performing and racing. As it is not easy to schedule a free time between him, his friends, and teachers, he did not busk after preparation for several months. At last, he and his friend in the association went to busking together. Thinking about the first busking, he said that the feeling was odd. He was too nervous that he asked his friends to sing first. After his friend had sung his piece, he found the feeling of performance and he sang his first piece. He said that his purpose of busking is that none of the wheelchair user does busking before and he wants to sing as a wheelchair user.

(Photo provided by interviewee)

Busking is different from performing: the audiences stay because of my voice.

In 2018, he went to Taiwan for beauty pageant with six members in the association. He only prepared a 3-minute introduction in Mandarin, clothing, and his son to join this competition that focuses on 'inner beauty'. He had not gone to Taiwan and would like to take this opportunity to go out wtih his son also. When he went to the venue, he found that there were over 30 competitors from different places with both internal and external beauty, revealing their self-confidence from head to toe.

If you judge me that I am fat, I can go for fitness; but if you judge me as old, that’s what I can’t change. This is always a wonderful time.

Tommy thought that this was a good opportunity for learning, and became serious to the competition. He was not afraid of judging, his purpose was only to show that no matter the age, body status, and life, everyone could show the beauty and energy about life. He got fifth place in the competition. He said that he would still join different competitions, to let his son knows that his father, who was a wheelchair user, could sing in the competition, and had joined a beauty pageant.

 (Photo provided by interviewee)

 

 

 

 

Written by: Carmen Yau
Original story in Chinese, English translation by: Teresa Lam

book-story.php

humans.asia 由賽馬會理大真人圖書網絡推動
故事 主題 量度 團體/項目 影片 聯絡我們 登入/註冊 ENG
Wefoto
故事 主題 量度 團體/項目 影片 聯絡我們 登入/註冊

故事

‹ 去主題頁 ‹ 回到故事頁

柳冕

頁面建立日期
2019.01.29

頁面更新日期
2021.04.23

×

預約會見


! [姓名] * 必須填寫


! [電郵地址] * 必須填寫 ! [電郵地址] 請填寫有效電郵

! [聯絡電話] * 必須填寫 ! [聯絡電話] 請填寫有效聯絡電話


! [組織] * 必須填寫


! [開始會見日期及時間] * 必須填寫

! [結束會見日期及時間] * 必須填寫
! 開始日期及時間不能在結束日期及時間之後 ! 開始日期必須在目前日期或之後


! [預計參與人數] * 必須填寫


! [地點] * 必須填寫


你已成功提交預約會見,我們將會盡快處理您的申請。
×

回應/補充

* 必須填寫


! [姓名] * 必須填寫


! [電郵] * 必須填寫


! [網址] * 必須填寫

! [我有以下回應/補充] * 必須填寫

選擇附件 更改 刪除
(最多可上傳10個附件,總附件大小不得超過100MB。)
! [出了點問題,請再試一次。]
! [附件上傳超過了最大附件數量。]
! [上傳的附件超過100MB的大小上限。]


你已成功提交你的回應/補充。

心驚驚去BUSKING

Adobe Flash Player Loading ...


 

 

(相片由受訪者提供)

交通意外前,柳冕是做鐘表貿易的,2006年在深圳公幹時遇上嚴重交通意外,雖然沒有流血,也沒有斷骨,但頸椎神經受損了,一夜間由運動健將變成四肢癱瘓。當時的他只有三十歲,未婚、沒有孩子,只有開始年邁的父母。人生再次由零開始,經歷過頹廢與振作,他加入路向四肢傷殘人士協會後,便與病友一起踏出更多人生的第一步。今天的柳冕,擁有溫暖的家庭,有路向的熱血戰友們,在不同的比賽、演出及講座中道出溫柔男人的心聲,總被燦爛的笑容包圍著。  

(相片由受訪者提供)

我每次去表演比賽,我都會帶兒子去。 
因為我想他看到自己的爸爸即使坐輪椅,生活都可以很精彩。
我想讓他看到更多輪椅朋友,接觸這個世界。

台上一分鐘,台下十年功。柳冕受傷前沒有特別喜歡唱歌,與唱歌結緣有賴路向的樂隊。 因受傷的關係,他如其他頸椎神經受損者一樣,呼吸功能有限,起初唱不了幾句就累了,後來努力訓練,刻意提醒自己用氣的方式,現在可以面不紅、氣不促的唱一整首歌。他直言要不斷唱歌練習以保持體能,每當在物理治療中,被縛在床上進行站立運動時,他就感受到心跳加速,無法呼吸,就要靠唱歌來調整呼吸。對他來說,唱歌是一種他很享受的運動。 

(相片由受訪者提供)

我要多去比賽表演,不是為了紅,
而是備戰狀態令我保持活力, 令我對自己有所要求。
 

街頭演唱這個念頭在柳冕心中盤旋了很久,他認為街頭表演者的質素參差,但他就是欠了比歌喉更重要的膽量。雖然上台比賽演出經驗是有,但要在街頭演唱還是不敢。與結他師傅及一位會友籌備了好幾個月,但因時間難以配合而久久未能出動,後來就決定與同是坐輪椅的會友,「兩個大男人」以「我陪你陪我」的心態出動。柳冕憶起第一次在街頭演唱的情況,他說兩個輪椅使用者在街頭演唱,感覺總是格格不入,我緊張到無從入手。他說:「我真的不敢唱,只好推友人先唱。當友人唱完,我就找到演出的感覺去唱我第一首歌了。」  他說要堅持作這個第一次的動機是因為沒有輪椅使用者敢在街頭演唱,所以他很想以輪友身份展示歌喉。   

街頭演唱跟平時表演很不同,途人駐足欣賞是因為我的歌聲。

(相片由受訪者提供)

2018年,他與另外六位路向會友組團到台灣參加選美比賽,只是簡單準備用普通話作3分鐘的簡介,挑好戰衣去赴會。他坦然指參加原意是因為從未去過台灣,以參與這場以選「內在美」的選美比賽為名,帶著年幼的兒子去。去到會場才發現逾30名來自內地、馬來西亞等地方的參賽者都是內外美兼備、既有明星臉,更有急才急智應付問答環節,一手一腳流露出自信。 

如果說我胖,我回去會操FIT自己;不過如果說我已到中年,
這是我不能改的地方,更何況這是我現時美好的一刻了。

柳冕自覺是一個好好互相學習的機會,變得緊張認真的看待這場比賽。這次選美之行,他並不害怕被人評頭論足,目的就是以這個年齡、這個身體、這個人生經歷去展示生命的燦爛美。他參賽就是想告訴大家,男人都可以美、年紀長了都可以魅力,坐輪椅都可以有活力。他的投入讓他在選美比賽中獲得理想的男子組第五名,他表示仍會積極參加不同的比賽,為的是讓兒子知道自己有一個坐輪椅的爸爸,他會唱歌比賽,他也曾去過選美的。

(相片由受訪者提供)

 

 

 

 

撰文﹕游家敏

book-story.php